Retro Diary #70

Sunday, June 11th, 2017

Last Sunday, I got Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 2 (mostly) working on my PC, and I got it working using the Cumulative patch, which makes the gtame widescreen, unloicks the framerate, and makes other improvements.

….and wow! Playing the game at 60+ frames per second makes a huge difference! It’s much more fun and fluid now! It’s going to be hard to go back to the console versions now…


On Monday, my brother completed Tony Hawk’s American Wasteland, and was dissapointed at the ending, and said it was anti-climatic.

During the playthrough, we had to invent a manual trick, and my brother created basically a 900 with a lot of spins added, and we decided to call it… the 901!

However, the move somehow got lost, so we recreated it but modified it slightly, and called it the 901.5!


On Tuesday, I decided to play Thrasher Skate and Destroy and Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 3 on the PS1… on the PS2….

Thrasher has something interesting about it, when I used the component, the resolution seems to change from the menu to the game, and the menu looks crisper, so it must be running at a higher resolution than the game itself. Interesting…

I’ll give my thoughts on Pro Skater 3 when I release my article I’m making documenting my throughts on the Tony Hawk games.

My brother has decided to play Tony Hawk’s Underground 1 on the PS2 again, is thinking of creating another story in it, and was experimenting with the create-a-park feature. We noticed that one backdrop has people walking around in the distance…

He then decided to power through the game multiple times to unlock all of the decks, we practiced some explots used by some speedrunners, and we joked about doing a speedrun!


On Wednesday, my brother asked me if I had certain PS1 games… for some reason.


On Thursday, I played a little but of Shaun Palmer’s Pro Snowboarder, but didn’t play much. I played it to take my mind off of the general election, the voting of which happened that day, but it did nothing to take my mind off of it.


On Friday, I plugged in my Sega Saturn to play NiGHTS Into Dreams… but again, didn’t play much, for mostly the same reason as the day before. I was horrified and dissapointed by the results…

After I got over it and saw there was still a ton of support for the party I supported. I played some THUG Pro, but I couldn’t connect online…


 

 

Leave a Reply

Nel cuore della Scozia

In viaggio tra Edimburgo e le Highlands

Island Voices - Guthan nan Eilean

Slices of Life and Work in the 21st Century Hebrides - for language learners, and anyone else!

MUNGUIN'S NEW REPUBLIC

This site supports Scottish Independence

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

Scotland Moves on

independence plain and simple

yesdayscotland

Modern technology for peacefully resolving mass conflict

Wee Ginger Dug

Biting the hand of Project Fear

Cobra!'s Scrievin Site an Dream Diary

Whaur a mak up short stories fae Scrievin Prompt an whaur A store ma Dream Journal

Gamerstorm Developers Blog

Whaur wir Developers blether on aboot stuff!

World War 1 Live

Live-blogging the Great War

SHENMUE.DE

Das deutsche Shenmue-Fanblog

The Asexual Agenda

Furthering upper-level discussions of asexuality

Cobra!'s Retro Room

A blog documenting my gaming life.

Movie Night

YouTube's #1 Movie Review Show (in blog form!)

The Zandig Special

CZW Reviews, Rants and Rory Mondo

