Retro Diary #68 – Xbox Week Part 1.5

Sunday, May 28th, 2017

Continuation from last week’s blog.

I played through my brother’s Tony Hawk’s Underground 2 story, the one he was creating using entirely goals made from the Create-A-Goal feature in the game… for something that was created out of the blue in 2 days using something that basically made things like character development or actual story events impossible, it’s actually pretty good. In my opinion.

It was about a skater impressing a bunch of people, being sponsored by a skateboard company, then compete in a competition to become pro, but then your team somehow ends up in Australia, and enters a skate competition that, as it so happens,  was taking place at the time, and they were to use the prize money to fly back home.

It’s not much, but again, considering the tools he had to work with, it was actually believable, and made me want to play through it to see what happened next, which I think is a very good sign. I think he’s got some potential as a story teller. I love when people I know are making stuff, so I guess I have a bias, but I still enjoyed it. Despite the goals being really frustrating at times!

After all of that, he was done with the Original Xbox, and didn’t want to play any more THUG2, so I took away the Xbox, and set up thye Xbox 360, since my other brother wanted to play Tony Hawk’s Project 8 on it.

I set up the Xbox 360, only to find that I don’t have a copy of the game on 360 any more…


My brothers were looking at Xbox 360 games to play, and I found quiite a few, including Tony Hawk’s Project 8, which didn’t work, and Skate 3. The problem was that. although we have a working controller, we didn’t have any working AA batteries to use…


Okay, they have batteries now, and they got Project 8 working now… and it runs like crap… I remember it running at 60fps, and remember hearing that an update slowed the game down.

So with my brother’s permission, I deleted every file for the game on the console, and installed the game again, but this time, not update the game… it still ran like crap… Must have been a console dashboard update… needless to say, my brothers weren’t happy…


I decided to set up the Dreamcast in the sitting room, and start a Tony Hawk marathon or sorts, I’m going to play through THPS1 to THPS5, and do an article on them all and give me thoughts on them! Watch out for that!

My brother also gave the first game a shot, but he got pissed off when he got to Downhill Jam, and did the equivalent of ragequitting…


That’s it for this week blog. It’s not much, but aside from continuing to 100% Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 3, that was all that happened in terms of retro gaming this week…

Leave a Reply

Nel cuore della Scozia

In viaggio tra Edimburgo e le Highlands

Island Voices - Guthan nan Eilean

Slices of Life and Work in the 21st Century Hebrides - for language learners, and anyone else!

MUNGUIN'S NEW REPUBLIC

This site supports Scottish Independence

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

Scotland Moves on

independence plain and simple

The SKWAWKBOX

Communicating on stuff that matters

yesdayscotland

Modern technology for peacefully resolving mass conflict

Wee Ginger Dug

Biting the hand of Project Fear

Cobra!'s Scrievin Site an Dream Diary

Whaur a mak up short stories fae Scrievin Prompt an whaur A store ma Dream Journal

Gamerstorm Developers Blog

Where our Developers talk about stuff!

World War 1 Live

Live-blogging the Great War

Scottish Games Network

The home of the Scottish Games Network

SHENMUE.DE

Das deutsche Shenmue-Fanblog

The Asexual Agenda

Furthering upper-level discussions of asexuality

Cobra!'s Retro Room

A blog documenting my gaming life.

Movie Night

YouTube's #1 Movie Review Show (in blog form!)

The Zandig Special

CZW Reviews, Rants and Rory Mondo

