Retro Pick-Ups – 25/02/13

Tuesday, February 25th, 2014

Right, after this post, I have an announcement thing coming up, so stay tuned, assuming you tuned in in the first place!

Yet again, I was at CEX yesterday, and I found some games I’ve been looking out for, at decent prices, which made me happy, let’s get right to it…

I got Mortal Kombat: Shaolin Monks for the Xbox for £4, which I thought was pretty good.
Mortal Kombat - Shaolin Monks [Xbox] - Box Shot
Mortal Kombat Shaloin Monks is a Co-Op Beat em’ Up that’s set in, of course, the Street Fighter universe! The game is a lot of fun, I look forward to playing though it, preferably with a friend, but I doubt that’ll happen…

I got Forza MotorSport, also for the Xbox, for £1.50, which I thought was a great deal!
Forza Motorsport [Xbox] - photo of game box
I was kind of disappointed with this one, the graphics don’t look that much nicer than the PS2 Gran Turismk games, but only runs at 30fps! Really guys? You also spin out of control a lot. I’m not a huge fan of this game…

I got Ridge Racer V for the PS2, also for £1.50!

Ridge Racer V [PS2] - Photo of game box

It’s Ridge Racer, RIIIIIIIDGE RACER!


This game is awesome! Nice looking visuals, running at 60fps! Very impressive for a game that came out in 2000-! If I saw this when it came out as a kid, I’d be blown away! Not that I’m saying the PS2 didn’t blow me away when I first saw it, but you know…

The game plays great as well, my only gripe is that the camera angles suck, you don’t get a chase cam view, only first person and an angle that looks like the camera was set on the cars spoiler…

Just a warning, though, the game doesn’t work with Memory Cards above 8MB it seems, I have a64MB and a 128MB memory card, and the game couldn’t read them, and when they did, they took ages to do so, so if you use a 128MB card, you best be dusting off your old 8MB card if you want to get anywhere in this game.

and finally, I got Wipeout Pure for the PSP for £2.50!
WipEout Pure [PSP] - Photo of game box
The game is alright, but again, 30fps! Why? Fusion on the PS2 ran at 60fps, and the PSP is the same hardware, there no excuse!

Oh yeah, I also got Soul Calibur 2 for the Xbox for 75p, but that didn’t work, so it’s getting taken back!
Soul Calibur 2 [Xbox] - Photo of game box

So that’s all I got today/yesterday, if you’ve made it this far in the post, then good for you! I have something else to post here, so stay with us… no, please don’t go!

-Cobra!

Leave a Reply

Nel cuore della Scozia

In viaggio tra Edimburgo e le Highlands

Island Voices - Guthan nan Eilean

Slices of Life and Work in the 21st Century Hebrides - for language learners, and anyone else!

MUNGUIN'S NEW REPUBLIC

This site supports Scottish Independence

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

Scotland Moves on

independence plain and simple

yesdayscotland

Modern technology for peacefully resolving mass conflict

Wee Ginger Dug

Biting the hand of Project Fear

Cobra!'s Scrievin Site an Dream Diary

Whaur a mak up short stories fae Scrievin Prompt an whaur A store ma Dream Journal

Gamerstorm Developers Blog

Whaur wir Developers blether on aboot stuff!

World War 1 Live

Live-blogging the Great War

SHENMUE.DE

Das deutsche Shenmue-Fanblog

The Asexual Agenda

Furthering upper-level discussions of asexuality

Cobra!'s Retro Room

A blog documenting my gaming life.

Movie Night

YouTube's #1 Movie Review Show (in blog form!)

The Zandig Special

CZW Reviews, Rants and Rory Mondo

