My thoughts on the year 2013

Tuesday, December 31st, 2013

Before I begin, I would like to welcome youse to our new WordPress blog, if you haven’t visited the blog yet, and got this through RSS or email, go on, give the site a visit!
If you’re still subscribed to our old RSS feed, don’t worry, I’ve made so that posts from here will go into the old feed as well, but Feedburner (which is what I was using previously) seems like an old wooden bridge waiting to collapse, I’ve been hearing rumours about Google discontinuing it, so who knows how many post I’ll be able to cram in before that happens, assuming it’s true. I recommend you subscribe to this blog’s RSS, links have been provided at the bottom of the blog’s page.

Anyway, we are now in the final hours of 2013, and what a year it’s been, it seems to have come and go very slowly this year, a lot of things have been happening, so many, in fact, that things that happened at the start of the year feels like they happened a couple of years ago. Anyway in a few hours, we’re going to be reminded that the good old days are getting further and further into the past…

I wasn’t originally going to do post my thoughts on this year, I didn’t see the point, but then I decided “F*ck it!”, I’ve done it for the last 2 years, it’s sort of become a tradition, let’s cut to the change, shall we?

 

The Scottish independence debate has gotten a lot more intense, people I know are finally picking their teams, the nations they will fight for!

In the blue corner, fighting for Scotland, the proud wavers of the Saltire, Yes Scotland!

In the red corner, fighting for the United Kingdom, wearing suits and drinking tea like pros, Better Together!

Among my friends and family, it’s just about even, with Yes Scotland just edging out on top, I have more freedom fighters than unionists! As I said in, funnily enough, last years year review, I am among the yes supporters!

One more note, I heard that Denmark and Iceland said that Scotland can become Nordic if they get independence, and considering that the Nordic countries are among the most successful countries in the world right now, that can’t be a bad thing, can it? I only have a major concern, will be be able to keep the Saltire if we become Nordic? I like the Saltire, I mean Greenland (another Nordic country) didn’t follow the Nordic flag design, so I hope Scotland isn’t forced to either. Like I said, it’s only a minor concern, it seems like a small price to pay.

Game for Windows shut down this year, it’s kind of a shame, I liked Games for Windows live, but it’s pretty clear I’m alone on that…

Of course, it was Doctor Who’s 50th anniversary! I’ll go into more detail about that later! I want to give that it’s very own section!

We say goodbye to a legendary console this year, the Playstation 2, essentially ending of what I like to call: The “X-Dream-Station-Cube” era! (Alternatively: “N-Vanced Star Mini”!)
I’ve already said what I wanted to say about the PS2 in my FIFA 14 and PES 2014 reviews.

Other than that, nothing major has happened with me, apart from being stuck for another year with my unorganised college, seriously, they couldn’t tell their ar*es from their elbows over there!


 

So what films came out that I like:

Despicable Me 2:
It seemed like one of those films, where the maker got too hot headed because of the success of the original, and tried to way outdo themselves here, but fail. I still enjoyed it, though.

Monsters University:
A brilliant prequel to Monsters Inc, I absolutely loved it, it had it’s funny, intense and emotional moments!

Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters:
Another film in the Percy Jackson series, it wasn’t as good as the original, but I still really liked it!

Gravity:
It’s a film set in outer space, I’m scared I’ll spoil the film if I say any more than that (like I accidentally did with my mum…), but it’s kept me on my toes the whole time, it was intense the whole way through, I never got a break! It also looked nice!

Saving Mr. Banks:
A film about Walt Disney (played by Tom Hanks) trying to buy the rights to Marry Poppins to make a film out of it, I love it films based on real life events that happened behind the scenes or making of a Film/TV show/Video Game, and this is no exception!

An Adventure in Time and Space:
Doctor Who related, cannot/will not reveal anything for now

Doctor Who: Day of the Doctor:
Ditto.

The Five(ish) Doctors Reboot:
A sort of movie, doctor who related, more later.


 

How about video games? What good games came out this year? Well, here are the ones I enjoyed:

The Walking Dead [PC]:
The retail version of the game came out on May 2013, so in my book, it qualifies as a 2013 game, anyway, it’s absolutely brilliant, without a shadow of a doubt Telltales finest game yet! I haven’t seen the show, but I was told by friends who played it that didn’t need to, so I got it, and I’m loving every second, it kind of puts me in a depressed mood every time I play it, but it’s like cola, I’m addicted to it!

LEGO City Undercover [Wii U]:
I was never a fan of the Lego based games, but since Undercover got good reviews, and that I needed a game to play on my Wii U, I got it, and I loved it! The story was great, it was hilarious, and at the same time, it kept me playing to see how it unfolded! The music was great as well!

LEGO City Undercover – The Chase Begins [3DS]:
It’s not as good as the Wii U game, not by a long shot, but it shows us what happened before the original undercover took place, being it’s a prequel, the game answered all of the story-related questions I had when playing through the Wii U game, but the games also had some continuity errors, quite a lot, actually. I still enjoyed it, though.

The Wonderful 101 [Wii U]:
I really liked this game, you play as 100 little guys, and they can come together to make weapons such as fists, swords and guns, they can also turn into ladders and bridges, and other things. The whole game seems downright silly to me, I love it! It looks brilliant, runs brilliant, and plays brilliant!

Call of Duty: Ghosts [Wii U]:
I might cause controversy for this (for simply having an opinion…), but I enjoyed this game, as always, the game looks great and runs smooth, the story was interesting enough to keep me playing, despite there being a lot of errors in the plot. The multiplayer as fun as well, but seriously, only 2 players? Come on Activision!

Pro Evolution Soccer 2014[PS2/PC]:
Most people didn’t like the new PES game, but I really enjoy it, the new engine gave the game a more fast paced, arcade-y feel, although I think that’s why people didn’t like it, they were probably looking for realism (which is fair enough, they love football, they want to simulate the game), and they didn’t deliver on that.

The PS2 version was the same as ever, but with updated rosters, but since people seem to have loved the PS2 PES game, it’s good for those who feel nostalgic, but aren’t comfy with the idea of going back to an old football game. You can see my review of the PS2 version of the game plus FIFA 14 on PS2 here!


 

So it was Doctor Who’s 50th anniversary, I was very exited for the everything they brought out to celebrate it, not a day would pass without me thinking about it! Of course they had the final part of series 8, but in the second half of the year, we got “An Adventure of Space and Time” which was a film about how doctor who first got made, it’s really interesting, I lvoed every second of it.

They then had “The Night of the Doctor”, featuring Paul McGann, the 8th doctor, which was an awesome surprise, I’ve seen the TV movie he was in, and really liked his doctor. I saw an article the day it was out telling out… it was out, and when I read “Featuring the 8th doctor, Paul McGann”, I instantly went to iPlayer to see it, it was all I needed to hear!
I loved how they brought him back to do a mini-episode, to do his regeneration to the War Doctor, John Hurt is a great actor, but I personally think they should have made Paul McGann play the War Doctors roll as the 8th, then we wouldn’t have wasted a regeneration, but what’s done is done, nothing we can do about it.

Then, of course, we had the 50th anniversary special, “The Day of the Doctor”, I went to the cinemas to see it instead of watching it on TV, because an event like this cannot possibly be justified by a TV screen, no matter the screen size or quality, cinema in 3D was the way to go! I really enjoyed the Day of the Doctor, but I wish Christopher Eccleston, my first doctor, made a return, but we only respect his decision to not do it…

The 5th, 6th and 7th doctors made a film of their own, called “The Five(ish) Doctors Reboot”, which is about them trying to get into the 50th anniversary movie, I found it really funny. The thing I love about it, is that Steven Moffat and the crew behind Doctor Who were happy to set themselves up as the bad guys for the film, that was just so awesome, it says a lot about them!

Finally, there was The Time of the Doctor (Noticing a pattern here?), this one, I didn’t like do much, I still enjoyed it, but not as much as the others, I don’t want to spoil anything, but I didn’t like how the regeneration was done… but Peter Capaldi made a great first impression!


 

One last thing, I finally released a game!!!!! It’s not game of the year, but it’s one heck of an achievement for me! It’s free, so give it a shot, and please give me feedback if you do!


 

So overall, I thought it was a great year, certainly better than 2011 and 2012 in my opinion. I hope 2014, the year of freedom, will be better!

  • Favourite Movie of 2013: The Day of the Doctor
  • Favourite Game of 2013: The Walking Dead [PC]
  • Favourite Song of 2013: Eminem – Survival
  • Last Game Played in 2013: Sonic Adventure DX [PC]
Leave a Reply

Nel cuore della Scozia

In viaggio tra Edimburgo e le Highlands

Island Voices - Guthan nan Eilean

Slices of Life and Work in the 21st Century Hebrides - for language learners, and anyone else!

MUNGUIN'S NEW REPUBLIC

This site supports Scottish Independence

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

Scotland Moves on

independence plain and simple

The SKWAWKBOX

Communicating on stuff that matters

yesdayscotland

Modern technology for peacefully resolving mass conflict

Wee Ginger Dug

Biting the hand of Project Fear

Cobra!'s Scrievin Site an Dream Diary

Whaur a mak up short stories fae Scrievin Prompt an whaur A store ma Dream Journal

Gamerstorm Developers Blog

Where our Developers talk about stuff!

World War 1 Live

Live-blogging the Great War

Scottish Games Network

The home of the Scottish Games Network

SHENMUE.DE

Das deutsche Shenmue-Fanblog

The Asexual Agenda

Furthering upper-level discussions of asexuality

Cobra!'s Retro Room

A blog documenting my gaming life.

Movie Night

YouTube's #1 Movie Review Show (in blog form!)

The Zandig Special

CZW Reviews, Rants and Rory Mondo

