Mystery Console Revealed

Wednesday, November 13th, 2013

Remember in my last Retro Diary, I mentioned that I was getting a new console, but never revealed what that console is? Well, it’s here, so I’ll reveal it, drumroll please…

…What, no drumroll? Ah, screw it! The console I got was…



That’s right, It’s a Super Nintendo! For those unaware, no, this is not a Japanese Super Famicon, the PAL SNES’ had same design, the differences I’m aware of, are obviously the name and the Super Nintendo logo on it, and that the cartridge door has “PAL Version” written on it. I’m thankful we got the Japanese design, because, I think the North American design is really ugly, and dull, no offence to any American SNES fans watching,

I am quite exited to have this, I’ve always been wanting to play the Super FX games on it, and this game happened to come with one of them, or should I say two of them…

…Ha, get it? It’s because I got two copies of Starwing (That’s what Starfox is called in Europe), that makes two, but it’s only reall- ah forget it!

For those who haven’t seen a SNES before (The SNES did poorly here (at least compared to Mega Drive), so people like that exist here.), you probably think the cartridges are pretty big, and you’d be right, they are, for those who make the argument of “They were small for their time”, the Mega Drive came out 2 years before and had much smaller cartridges, and I’ve heard they can actually store more, here’s a size comparison I made:

It also came with 3 controllers, although only 2 work, and only one of them had a functional start button…

Finally, here’s a photo of the SNES all set up, ready to play Starwing!

One thing I like about the SNES, is it’s eject button in the centre, it’s just so satisfying to push and watch the cartridge pop out!

So I’ve played the SNES for a bit, and it’s a pretty good machine, the controller feels great, and considering I can only view it from an RF output, it looks great on my TV!

So I’m going to play Starwing some more, BYE!

-Cobra!

Leave a Reply

Nel cuore della Scozia

In viaggio tra Edimburgo e le Highlands

Island Voices - Guthan nan Eilean

Slices of Life and Work in the 21st Century Hebrides - for language learners, and anyone else!

MUNGUIN'S NEW REPUBLIC

This site supports Scottish Independence

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

Scotland Moves on

independence plain and simple

The SKWAWKBOX

Communicating on stuff that matters

yesdayscotland

Modern technology for peacefully resolving mass conflict

Wee Ginger Dug

Biting the hand of Project Fear

Cobra!'s Scrievin Site an Dream Diary

Whaur a mak up short stories fae Scrievin Prompt an whaur A store ma Dream Journal

Gamerstorm Developers Blog

Where our Developers talk about stuff!

World War 1 Live

Live-blogging the Great War

Scottish Games Network

The home of the Scottish Games Network

SHENMUE.DE

Das deutsche Shenmue-Fanblog

The Asexual Agenda

Furthering upper-level discussions of asexuality

Cobra!'s Retro Room

A blog documenting my gaming life.

Movie Night

YouTube's #1 Movie Review Show (in blog form!)

The Zandig Special

CZW Reviews, Rants and Rory Mondo

